Up

Up

During my recent vacation I was lucky enough to watch Pixar’s new movie Up. I also had the good fortune to watch it in 3D which gave it that much more, not that this movie needed anything extra. It will not be an exaggeration to say that this is one of the best movies I’ve come across. There is everything in it; love, loss, humor, adventure and great characters. I won’t be ruining it with spoilers here cause I hate it when people do that to me but I will give a brief description of the beginning.

Obviously the visuals are beyond stunning. The color pallet in it is simply fantastic to the point you just feel at ease through out. The whole thing starts with a beautiful short that sets the mood so perfectly. If ever there was a way to describe cute in visual form this short movie is it. Clouds producing babies of all creatures and sending them down to earth with storks. Its a homage to all those old Disney cartoons in which they try to describe how kids are made. These clouds are so filled with love you cant help but smile. Must see!!

Up starts with a young Carl in a cinema watching the latest adventures of a certain Mr. Muntz. On his way home he meets Ellie and they become quick friends. What follows is a four minute montage that shows their life together. It is pure art as it encapsulates how these two characters felt for each other and why grown up Carl is who he is. In those four minutes you truly are able to see a lifetime.

I wont go any further in describing the story but what the people at Pixar have done is as close to a masterpiece as there is in my humble opinion. It has been over three weeks since I’ve seen this movie and I haven’t been able to get it out of my head. If you’ve seen it let me know what you think.

2 thoughts on “Up

  1. i just wanted to say that i think this blog is the epitome of all things interesting.. really, you are the most talented person in the universe (and i do believe in aliens)..

    alphonso the mango

Leave a Reply

