Geek Entry V1.0

Few thoughts:

So I just renewed my Internet connection to 2Mb. Now anyone living in the western world that would be like an average speed one would pay a reasonable amount for. Not here though. After doing my research I found that my current provider is the cheapest at this speed and I will be paying KWD192 for the year. That’s $667. $55/month.  Shocked at those prices I decided to do a little research and see what people are paying in the States and found that for 7Mb with Verizon people pay $40/month and for 6Mb at ATT you pay $35/month. In Japan very soon they will be getting 160Mb and its only going to cost J-Com $20 to install per home. Damn!! Here I’m a superstar for getting 2Mb

I’ve been playing Call of Juarez: Bound in Blood on the Playstation lately and I have to admit I love it. As a kid I used to love western movies and even now I loved movies like 3:10 to Yuma, so when I got this game I was very excited about it. Thankfully its been living up to the expectation. The game play is a lot of fun, the story line and dialogue are great at keeping you interested and in their cheesiness. Lots of gun fights, and the boss fights include quick draws. I highly recommend it.

There are a few other games coming out this fall that you need to look out for

Finally its no secret that I’ve been pining for a Sony Bravia for a long time now. The problem is now there is a new technology in the LCD market called LED giving us these super slim TVs. Whats a man to do with all these options? Can’t buy a TV now and have it be outdated too quickly. Does one wait for LED to be the norm? Advice!!

6 thoughts on “Geek Entry V1.0

  1. Yo Mohi!

    I think you meant “Can’t buy a TV now and have it be OUTDATED too quickly”. I’m also in the market for a TV but honestly, I’m going to hold off. New tech is arriving soon and on top of that, the prices are dropping fast. Keep me posted if you find any good deals 🙂

    About the internet connections: UTTER BULLSHIT! Highway robbery! Can you find out why they charge us so much? There has to be a reason!

    • Thanks for the typo correction.
      In terms of why internet is so expensive, The MOC charges the companies a lot of money to get them connected to their exchanges. Also it used to be that the global providers used to charge high fees, but I know that prices have gone down a lot recently. It should be a lot cheaper. Its 2009!

  2. First of all… Wehbi, stop stealing my first posts!

    Yeah internet is way too expensive in Kuwait. In Pittsburgh I pay $66.99 for cable and a 15mb internet connection. Maybe the install base plays a factor in the price?

    For the list of games you have there I would add

    Batman : Arkham Asylum
    Beatles Rockband
    Dragon Age: Origins
    New Super Mario Bros for the Wii
    and Brutal Legend

    Splinter Cell has been delayed till next year along with other big games like Bioshock 2, Dante’s Inferno, and Bayonetta because analysts are predicting that Modern Warfare 2 would make more money in first week than anything else ever created in the history of mankind.

    check this out for TVs http://www.avsforum.com/

Leave a Reply

